Click on one of the links underneath the photo above to access some interesting historical background information about our area. 

The square was originally called Prince's Square. It derived its name from the two houses on Kennington Park Road flanking the entrance to the square, built for Joseph Prince by Michael Searles in the 1760s. It was changed to Cleaver Square in 1937, named after Mary Cleaver who had owned the land in the 18th century.

There's an extensive entry for Kennington on Wikipedia which seems to have been well researched - lots of fascinating little-known historical facts! Here's a link: